Heritage Group

The Moray Firth Heritage Steering Group is made up of representatives from a wide range of organisations reflecting natural, cultural and social heritage ncluding Moray Firth Partnership, VisitScotland, Scottish Natural Heritage, Highland Council, Moray Council, Aberdeenshire Council, Sutherland Partnership, The Scottish Traditional Boat Festival, Small Town Network and Burghead Headland Trust.

Now that our Gansey Heritage project has started, the Group has been widened to include a number of additional bodies. The following sub-group will focus on advising on and steering the project:

Malcolm Smith (Director, Durham University)
Dr Ian Russell (Director, Elphinstone Institute) 
Di Gilpin (Di Gilpin Designs, based in Fife)
Pamela Conacher (Craft Development Co-ordinator – Hi-Arts)
Jacquie Aitken (Archivist TimeSpan Helmsdale)
Gordon Mackie (Director, Moray Firth Partnership)
Sinclair Young (Director, Moray Firth partnership)

Representatives of the project funders are also key providers of advice and ideas. Please see the project web site Gansey-MF for more information about the project, its funders and details of the local co-ordinators that have been appointed for Highland, Moray and Aberdeenshire.